All I have is Jesus

I was thinking about writing an article about our response to our own depravity (both what it often is and what it should be) and as I struggled to put my thoughts onto the page, I remembered a hymn that I had written when feeling extrodinarily guilty about a sin some time ago. It is very simple, and it is a song, not a blog article per se. But I hope you like it and find it to be edifying in some way. It’s called “All I Have is Jesus”.

All I have is Jesus
His blood my only plea
The sting of death He suffered
For me on Calvary

Oh that I could grasp
That heavenly mystery
Would that I could comprehend
What happened on that tree
How my sin can yet be His
I surely cannot see
But eyes of faith though week and dim
Receive Him Thankfully

All I have is Jesus
No righteous works to bring
The judgment mine by Him absorbed
Of this my soul should sing

Oh that I could grasp
That heavenly mystery
Would that I could comprehend
What happened on that tree
How my sin can yet be His
I surely cannot see
But eyes of faith though week and dim
Receive Him Thankfully

All I have is Jesus
His goodness paid to me
On my account the Savior scorned
Now from my sin I’m free

Oh that I could grasp
That heavenly mystery
Would that I could comprehend
What happened on that tree
How my sin can yet be His
I surely cannot see
But eyes of faith though week and dim
Receive Him Thankfully

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.