Papal messianism, bolstered by lack of competence in economics, is the road to a familiar hell, however finely paved with lovely intention.

Iheartpopefrancis

Maureen Mullarkey has a wonderful piece in this week’s First Things.

Entitled “Tammany on the Tiber” it is an exceptional piece.

She  wonders rightly, I think, about the trend now developing of popes canonizing their predecessors. She asks,

Is election a promissory note drafted in white smoke, and redeemable at death for public elevation to the rank of saint?

She has a fascinating take on recent popes and I highly recommend this article to your consideration.

About Paul Bassett

I'm old enough to remember land-line phones and young enough to have 3 twitter accounts and two blogs. I'm Reformed in my theology, post-millennial in eschatology and therefore optimistic about the future. I'm grateful to be here...and that you are, too!
This entry was posted in "Petrine Succession", John Paul II, Papal Infallibility, Paul Bassett, petrine primacy, Pope Francis I, Ratzinger, Roman Catholicism, The One True Church, Vatican II. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Papal messianism, bolstered by lack of competence in economics, is the road to a familiar hell, however finely paved with lovely intention.

  1. Andrew says:

    It seems to me a blessing from God that the RCC just keeps getting more and more transparently silly.

    Like

Comments are closed.